I need some tips

View previous topic View next topic Go down

I need some tips

Post by getaalong on Mon Jul 26, 2010 1:38 am

I just found a new spot on the Watauga DH that's a bit harder to get to, therefore not heavily pressured. After jumping rocks (and nearly jumping on a copperhead) for awhile I came upon a pool with a dozen nice trout and I settled in. The only way I could get to them was from the side, cross stream, so I stayed low and threw out an inchworm. I got a quick bite but it shook off quickly and I did not get one more bit out of those trout for another hour. I threw out an ant, a woolly bugger, hoppers, a copper john, and a few various dries. Each time I was getting good drift but they would just look at the fly and then politely decline. Anyone got ideas for what to do when you just can't interest them in anything? This is a recurring theme for me and since I'm new at this and trying to teach myself, I could use some pointers.
getaalong

Back to top Go down

Re: I need some tips

Post by Tyler on Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:34 pm

Usually when you're fishing for picky trout, it isn't necessarily the fly you're using but probably something else.

First off, I don't think you're putting them down or spooking them because they are looking at your fly. Fish that are put down/spooked won't acknowledge a fly at all. It's game over for a while.

1.) It may be that you need to use lighter tippet and a longer leader (6x or 7x and a 12 ft leader). Water levels are low and very clear, so heavier tippets are highly visible to the fish. Go as small as you are comfortable using.

2.) These fish may be selectively feeding. Most fish around here are opportunistic feeders and eat whatever food item drifts their way. You do see picky and selective fish in places though. Watch them for a minute and see if they are feeding on the top or close to the top. If it's neither, they're likely watching for nymphs.