Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

vise advise, lol

4 posters

Go down

vise advise, lol Empty vise advise, lol

Post by getaalong Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:50 pm

I'm pretty sure I've seen this conversation on this board before but couldn't find it again so I apologize if this is redundant. I'm looking to get in to tying but I don't think I want a kit, I just want the basics to tie an adams, bwo, a few nymphs and the occasional terrestrial. Any advice on what inexpensive vise I should get and a good source for tools/materials?
getaalong
getaalong

Back to top Go down

vise advise, lol Empty Re: vise advise, lol

Post by Tyler Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:22 pm

I've been using a Griffin Odyssey Spider vise for several years. Excellent quality for a great price. Strong jaws, but they're delicate enough to securely hold very small hooks (#24-28). The extra money that you could have spent on a $300 vise, could be put towards materials and tools. With that being said, Renzetti is also another great company that produces great vises and tools. The Renzetti Traveler is a very popular vise and is popular because of it's reliability and price.

vise advise, lol GT66
Griffin Odyssey Spider

As far as materials and tools go, most fly shops will have a decent selection. I try to spread the love amongst shops and not buy everything from the big-box stores such as Cabelas or Bass Pro. Here's a few great shops that carry a wide array of tying materials and tools. Just to name a few though...

1. Casters Fly Shop in Hickory
2. Davidson River Outfitters in Pisgah Forest
3. Hunter Banks Co. in downtown Asheville
4. Little River Outfitters in Townsend, TN